Home > News > The 25th Tokyo International Film Festival Announcement of Award Winners
News Index back
[Event Reports]
The 25th Tokyo International Film Festival Announcement of Award Winners

Date & Time:
October 28th (Sunday), from 14:00 @TOHO Cinemas Roppongi Hills Screen 7
closing celemony
Tokyo Sakura Grand Prix: The Other Son (directed by Lorraine Lévy)
Special Jury Prize: Juvenile Offender (directed by Kang Yi-kwan)

Award for Best Director: Lorraine Lévy (The Other Son)

Award for Best Actress: Neslihan Atagül (Araf – Somewhere in Between)

Award for Best Actor: Seo Young-ju (Juvenile Offender)

Award for Best Artistic Contribution: Pankaj Kumar, Director of Photography, Ship of Theseus

The Audience Award: Flashback Memories 3D (directed by Tetsuaki Matsue)

TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix
TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix: Himself He Cooks (directed by Valérie Berteau, Philippe Witjes)
TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix Special Jury Prize: Trashed (directed by Candida Brady)

Winds of Asia-Middle East:
Best Asian-Middle Eastern Film Award: Night of Silence (directed by Reis Çelik)
Special Mention :
Bwakaw (directed by Jun Robles Lana)
Him, Here After (directed by Asoka Handagama)
Full Circle (directed by Zhang Yang)

Japanese Eyes Best Picture Award: GFP BUNNY (directed by Yutaka Tsuchiya)
Director Lorraine Lévy, Producer Virginie Lacombe, and Actor Jules Sitruk who won the Tokyo Sakura Grand Prix Award for their film, The Other Son shared their excitement and appreciation:
Lorraine Lévy: Are you sure? What a nice day! Thank you again to my entire crew as well as my two French co-writers. I’d like to dedicate this prize to the children of Israel and Palestine.
closing celemony

©2012 TIFF

Virginie Lacombe: I can’t believe this—receiving two prizes in Tokyo on my first visit! I’d like to thank the jury members, Lorraine, Jules who is like my son now, and the organizers of Tokyo International Film Festival.
Jules Sitruk (actor): As I receive this wonderful prize, I am thinking about the movie crew and everybody involved in his film. Thank you Lorraine for giving me such a unique role and a life-changing experience!
President of the International Competition Jury, Roger Corman expressed his sincere appreciation to Chairman Tom Yoda and the entire festival staff for their hospitality and the wonderful films in the Competition Section. “All the films were excellent. They each demonstrate the glory and power of cinema to entertain, inform, and teach us. Each film coming from different cultures and countries and around the world demonstrated a common theme of humanity. Despite the country of origin, we are all equal and, I hope, wonderful people!”
The ceremony closed with Mr. Tom Yoda reflecting back on his five years as chairman at the Tokyo International Film Festival. Being the pioneer for establishing the concept of ecology and the Green Carpet at TIFF, he emphasized the ‘Power of Films’. “It is the fifth year since the introduction of the Green Carpet and the TOYOTA Earth Grand Prix. It is also the 25th memorable year for us. On such as special year, I am very happy to have had the world respected Roger Corman leading the member of the jury.”
In the end, Mr. Yoda welcomed Mr. Yasushi Shiina from Kadokawa Shoten Publishing Co., Ltd as his successor from the 26th Tokyo International Film Festival.

KEIRIN.JPThe 25th Tokyo International Film Festival will be held with funds provided by Japan Keirin Association.TIFF History
24th Tokyo International Film Festival(2011)